Iowa Permit to Carry Weapons Applications
New/Renewal Applications and Required Training

 

November 2, 2010


Training for New Permit Application (from SF2379, Iowa Code 724.9)
Training for a new permit application can have occurred at any time prior to the application. For example, if an applicant received handgun training 20 years ago, or was in military service 35 years ago, that training could be applied to a new permit application. The new Code lists five options:

  1. Completion of any NRA handgun safety training course, or
  2. Completion of any handgun safety training course available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, private or public institution or organization, or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or certain other firearms training certifying bodies (such as the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy), or
  3. Completion of any handgun safety training course offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of a law enforcement or security enforcement agency approved by the Iowa Department of Public Safety, or
  4. Completion of small arms training while serving with the armed forces of the United States as evidenced by any of the following:
    • For personnel released or retired from active duty, possession of an honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions. This can also be shown with a Form DD-214.
    • For personnel on active duty or serving in one of the national guard or reserve components of the armed forces of the United States, possession of a certificate of completion of basic training with a service record of successful completion of small arms training and qualification, or
  5. Completion of a law enforcement agency firearms training course that qualifies a peace officer to carry a firearm in the normal course of the peace officer's duties.

Training for Renewal Permit Application (from SF2379, Iowa Code 724.11(1))
Training for a renewal permit application must occur within the twelve months prior to the expiration of a currently held permit. Therefore, the training required for permit renewal must have occurred within the twelve months prior to the expiration date of the currently held permit. Since the renewal application must be filed at least thirty days prior to the expiration of the current permit, the effective training period is no greater than eleven months. Training is at the option of the applicant and can either be one of the five methods listed above for a new permit application, OR may be qualifying on a firing range under the supervision of an instructor certified by the National Rifle Association or certain other firearms training certifying bodies (such as the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy). The important difference here is that training for a renewal application must have occurred within the twelve months prior to the expiration of the currently held permit. This includes the use of the Form DD-214 which must show the acceptable military discharge within the twelve months prior to the expiration of the currently held permit. All renewal applications require a training component; there are no exceptions (no grandfather clause in the statute).

Acceptable Documentation for Training

  1. Photocopy of a certificate of completion or any similar document indicating completion of any course or class identified in Iowa Code § 724.9 as amended by SF2379, or
  2. Affidavit from the instructor, school, organization, or group that conducted or taught a course or class identified in Iowa Code § 724.9 as amended by SF2379 attesting to the completion of the course or class by the applicant, or
  3. Photocopy of DD Form 214 or other documentation showing honorable or general discharge under honorable conditions from military service.

Definition of "new application" and "renewal application"
“New application” means an application for an Iowa professional permit to carry weapons filed when the applicant does not currently hold an Iowa permit to carry weapons OR when the applicant does not file the application at least thirty days prior to the expiration of a currently held Iowa permit to carry weapons.
“Renewal application” means an application for an Iowa professional permit to carry weapons filed at least thirty days prior to the expiration of a currently held permit to carry weapons.
The following matrix provides information for various types of applications for permits to carry weapons on or after January 1, 2011 pursuant to Iowa Code Ch. 724 as amended by SF2379. All permit applications, whether new or renewal, require a training component; there are no exceptions (no grandfather clause in the statute). The type of training is the choice of the applicant and cannot be directed by the issuing officer. Qualification on a firing range is never a requirement; however, range qualification is an option for renewal.
If a current permit holder fails to file a renewal application within the specified time frames and accompanied by the documentation of timely training or range qualification and the appropriate fee, then the application is considered to be a new permit application. At that point, training and fee requirements for a new permit application apply.

If

Then

The application is a new application (as defined on page 1)

Training for new permit application (as described on page 1) is required

New permit fee

The application is a renewal application (as defined on page 1)

Training for renewal permit application (as described on page 1) is required

Renewal permit fee

Examples

Training Requirement

Fee

You have never had an Iowa permit to carry weapons

Training for new permit application which occurred anytime prior to application

New permit fee

You have a current valid Iowa permit to carry weapons that expires on January 1, 2011 and you submit a renewal application on or before December 2, 2010*

Training for renewal permit application which occurred between January 2, 2010 and December 2, 2010

Renewal permit fee

You have a current valid Iowa permit to carry weapons that expires on January 1, 2011 and you submit a renewal application on or after December 3, 2010*

Training for new permit application which occurred anytime prior to application

New permit fee

You have a current valid Iowa permit to carry weapons that expires January 17, 2011 and you submit a renewal application on or before December 18, 2010*

Training for renewal permit application which occurred between January 18, 2010 and December 18, 2010

Renewal permit fee

You have a current valid Iowa permit to carry weapons that expires January 17, 2011 and you submit a renewal application on or after December 19, 2010*

Training for new permit application which occurred anytime prior to application

New permit fee

You have a current valid Iowa permit to carry weapons that expires May 15, 2011 and you submit a renewal application on or before April 15, 2011

Training for renewal permit application which occurred between May 16, 2010 and April 15, 2011

Renewal permit fee

You have a current valid Iowa permit to carry weapons that expires May 15, 2011 and you submit a renewal application on or after April 16, 2011

Training for new permit application which occurred anytime prior to application

New permit fee

You have a current valid Iowa permit to carry weapons that expires November 3, 2011 and you submit a renewal application on or before October 4, 2011

Training for renewal permit application which occurred between November 4, 2010 and October 4, 2011

Renewal permit fee

You have a current valid Iowa permit to carry weapons that expires November 3, 2011 and you submit a renewal application on or after October 5, 2011

Training for new permit application which occurred anytime prior to application

New permit fee

* SF2379 is silent regarding the submission of applications prior to January 1, 2011. Until the law changes Jan. 1, 2011, an issuing officer does not appear to be obliged to accept an application that is submitted on an application form designed to reflect changes that will take effect Jan. 1, 2011, however, there also does not appear to be anything that would prohibit an issuing officer from accepting an application on the new form if the issuing officer wishes to do so as a means of preparing for implementation of the new permit to carry law.